CBS All Access, the CBS Television Network's digital subscription video on-demand and live streaming service, announced today the second season renewal of its hit original series Star Trek: Discovery. The launch of Star Trek: Discovery on CBS All Access broke a new record for subscriber sign-ups in a single day, week and month for the service. Here's what Marc DeBevoise, President and Chief Operating Officer, CBS Interactive, had to say in a statement.

"In just six episodes, Star Trek: Discovery has driven subscriber growth, critical acclaim and huge global fan interest for the first premium version of this great franchise. This series has a remarkable creative team and cast who have demonstrated their ability to carry on the Star Trek legacy. We are extremely proud of what they've accomplished and are thrilled to be bringing fans a second season of this tremendous series."

The first six episodes of Star Trek: Discovery are currently available to stream on CBS All Access. All new episodes are available on demand weekly after 8:30 PM, ET on Sundays exclusively for CBS All Access subscribers in the U.S. As previously announced, Star Trek: Discovery will air in two chapters. The final episode of chapter one will debut on Sunday, Nov. 12, and the second chapter, featuring the remaining six episodes, will return in January 2018. Some were worried that CBS All Access banned all Star Trek: Discovery reviews, but the show seems to be finding a foothold with its audience.


Star Trek: Discovery follows the voyages of Starfleet on their missions to discover new worlds and new life forms, and one Starfleet officer who must learn that to truly understand all things alien, you must first understand yourself. The series will feature a new ship and new characters, while embracing the same ideology and hope for the future that inspired a generation of dreamers and doers. The cast is lead by Sonequa Martin-Green as Michael Burnham, along with Anthony Rapp as Lt. Stamets, Chris Obi as T'Kuvma, Clare McConnell as Dennas, Damon Runyan as Ujilli, Doug Jones as Lt. Saru, James Frain as Sarek, Jason Isaacs as Captain Lorca, Kenneth Mitchell as Kol, Mary Chieffo as L'Rell, Mary Wiseman as Tilly, Maulik Pancholy as Dr. Nambue, Michelle Yeoh as Captain Georgiou, Rainn Wilson as Harry Mudd, Rekha Sharma as Commander Landry, Sam Vartholomeos as Ensign Connor, Shazad Latif as Lieutenant Tyler, Terry Serpico as Admiral Anderson and Wilson Cruz as Hugh Culber.


It isn't known if the renewal of Star Trek: Discovery will also lead to a renewal of the after show, known as Afer Trek, which will serve as the ultimate weekly forum for Star Trek fans, with in-depth discussions and recaps of the latest Star Trek: Discovery episode. Each After Trek episode will feature host Matt Mira talking in-studio or via video feed with Star Trek: Discovery cast members and crew along with past Star Trek talent and celebrity fans. While watching, fans will be able to "engage" with the show via social and other interactive elements by using the hashtag #AfterTrek. Star Trek: Discovery is produced by CBS Television Studios in association with Secret Hideout, Living Dead Guy Productions and Roddenberry Entertainment for CBS All Access. Alex Kurtzman, Bryan Fuller, Heather Kadin, Gretchen J. Berg & Aaron Harberts, Akiva Goldsman, Rod Roddenberry and Trevor Roth serve as executive producers.