Alex Trebek's final season of Jeopardy! has won the Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Game Show. The other nominees for the award at the 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards event included Family Feud, Let's Make a Deal, The Price Is Right, and Wheel of Fortune. The win marks the 17th award in this category for Jeopardy! out of 38 total nominations, and it follows the popular game show winning the honor at least year's event as well.

Jeopardy! was also up in the Outstanding Daytime Special Event category for the Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time special. Space Launch Live: America Returns to Space picked up the win in that particular category. The other nominees were the 94th Annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade, 2020 Film Independent Awards, and David Blaine Ascension.

RELATED: Jeopardy! Ratings Rise in Mayim Bialik's First Week After Mike Richards' Exit

In 2019, Alex Trebek announced that he had been diagnosed with stage IV pancreatic cancer. He vowed to work for as long as he could while fighting the deadly disease, and despite his failing health, he would host Jeopardy! until the very end. The television legend passed away in November at the age of 80, coming up a handful of months short of reaching his two-year survival goal in March.

"I'm Mike Richards, the executive producer of Jeopardy!," read a statement on the show after Trebek's death. "Over the weekend, we lost our beloved host Alex Trebek. This is an enormous loss for our staff and crew, for his family, and for his millions of fans. He loved this show and everything it stood for. In fact, he taped his final episodes less than two weeks ago. He will forever be an inspiration for his constant desire to learn, his kindness, and for his love of his family. We will air his final 35 episodes as they were shot. That's what he wanted. On behalf of everyone here at Jeopardy!, thank you for everything Alex. This is Jeopardy!."

It will be interesting to see what happens with Jeopardy! moving forward, given how synonymous Trebek has been with the game show for decades. There is no rush to put a permanent host in his spot, as it's going to take a while for both fans and the Jeopardy! team to mourn the loss of Trebek. The solution has been to use a revolving list of temporary guest hosts, though each of them are also in consideration to stay on permanently if things work out. Some of these hosts include Mayim Bialik, Ken Jennings, Aaron Rodgers, Katie Couric, Anderson Cooper, Dr. Oz, and LeVar Burton.

Along with the Jeopardy! nomination, Trebek was personally nominated at the Daytime Emmy Awards for Outstanding Game Show Host. The other nominees were Wayne Brady, Steve Harvey, Alfonso Ribeiro, and Pat Sajak. Both Brady and Sajak have said they were rooting for Trebek to posthumously win. The winner hasn't yet been named as of this writing.

Congratulations to everyone at Jeopardy! for their big win at the Emmys. Wherever he is now, Trebek would certainly be proud to see the show recognized once again at the prestigious event.