Gossip Girl returns this year as a reboot series on HBO Max, and a series of Instagram posts have revealed the new lineup of characters. Based on the original novel series by Cecily von Ziegesar and developed for television by Joshua Safran, the new Gossip Girl reboot is set in the same universe as the original TV series. While previous characters can be referenced or potentially make special appearances, the reboot will follow an all-new cast.

"The universe still exists. The characters talk about Serena, Blair, Chuck, Dan," Safran explained in 2019. He also gave some hints as to what the new version of the series would be like by adding, "I think it very much represents where we will be at in 2020 when the show airs. It really looks at how social media has changed."

RELATED: Gossip Girl Reboot Trailer Arrives, Stunning Character Posters Show Off the New Cast

Ultimately, Gossip Girl had its planned production start last March delayed when the pandemic changed plans for everyone in Hollywood. Filming wouldn't end up actually starting until November and production is currently underway. Safran's comments on incorporating modern social media into the reboot are also interesting, as the landscape has completely changed since the original Gossip Girl ended nearly a decade ago.

We might be dealing with new characters this time, but the basic gist of the show will remain the same. The official logline for the reboot reads, "Eight years after the original website went dark, a new generation of New York private school teens are introduced to the social surveillance of Gossip Girl. The prestige series will address just how much social media - and the landscape of New York itself - has changed in the intervening years."

On Instagram, the photos shared of each of the main cast members also include their most important character traits. The images include Emily Alyn Lind as Audrey Hope (Grace); Eli Brown as Otto "Obie" Bergman IV (Privilege); Jordan Alexander as Julien Calloway (Influence); Savannah Smith as Monet de Haan (Power); Zión Moreno as Luna La (Style); Thomas Doherty as Max Wolfe (Freedom); Tavi Gevinson as Kate Keller (Ambition); Evan Mock as Akeno "Aki" Menzies (Innocence); and Whitney Peak as Zoya Lott (Perspective).

The original Gossip Girl was developed for television by Josh Schwartz and Stephanie Savage, ultimately running for six seasons on The CW between 2007 and 2012. It follows the lives of upper-class adolescents living in Manhattan as narrated by an anonymous blogger known only as "Gossip Girl." Its cast included Blake Lively, Leighton Meester, Penn Badgley, Chace Crawford, Taylor Momsen, Ed Westwick, Jessica Szohr, Matthew Settle, and Kaylee DeFer. Kristen Bell served as the narrator of the series.

She's not included in the cast photos, but Bell has also been reported to return as the voice of Gossip Girl in the HBO Max reboot series. Karena Evans is also on board to direct the first two episodes. An exact premiere date hasn't yet been revealed, but the reboot show is expected to arrive sometime this year. You can see all of the cast reveal photos below, courtesy of Gossip Girl on Instagram.