Alex Trebek posthumously won one last Daytime Emmy Award for Outstanding Game Show Host. At the 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards ceremony on Friday evening, Trebek was officially named as the winner of the category, though this was little surprise as he was deservedly the heavy favorite going in. Trebek also took the Emmy last year and this latest award is his eighth win overall for that category. He was also granted a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Daytime Emmy Awards in 2011.

The other nominees for Outstanding Game Show Host at the Daytime Emmy Awards were Wayne Brady for Let's Make a Deal; Steve Harvey for Family Feud; Alfonso Ribeiro for Catch 21; and Pat Sajak for Wheel of Fortune. Before the ceremony, some of Trebek's fellow nominees said they were hoping to see the late Jeopardy! host posthumously take the honors.

RELATED: The Crown Becomes Netflix's Streaming Jewel with Multiple Emmy Award Wins

"Alex has won a lot. I presume he will win again," Sajak told TMZ. "I hope he does! I'm rooting for him... Good for him [for winning the last couple years], Alex did a great job obviously."

"Would I want him to win? Absolutely," Brady also told the outlet, while praising all of the nominees. "There would be no shame if Alex Trebek won... Alex is the bar for hosting that type of show."

Meanwhile, Trebek's final season hosting the show also won big at the Daytime Emmy Awards. For the category of Outstanding Game Show, it was Jeopardy! that once again picked up the win, marking the show's 17th Emmy win for a record 38 total nominations. To win the award, the game show bested Family Feud, Let's Make a Deal, The Price Is Right, and Wheel of Fortune. Jeopardy! also won the award last year.

Meanwhile, Jeopardy! was also up in the Outstanding Daytime Special Event category for the Jeopardy! The Greatest of All Time special. Space Launch Live: America Returns to Space picked up the win in that particular category. The other nominees were the 94th Annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade, 2020 Film Independent Awards, and David Blaine Ascension.

Alex Trebek announced his cancer diagnosis in March 2019, but despite his illness, he insisted on working as the host of Jeopardy! for as long as was physically possible. After one year, he celebrated a full year of survival, announcing his intentions to celebrate the two-year mark in March 2021. Sadly, Trebek passed away in November at the age of 80 shortly after filming his final batch of episodes.

Because there will never be anyone else quite like Trebek, finding a successor for him on Jeopardy! moving forward is not going to be easy. The solution as of now is to use various guest hosts with no rush to name a permanent host in the near future. Some of the guest hosts featured on the current season of Jeopardy! include Mayim Bialik, Katie Couric, Aaron Rodgers, Anderson Cooper, and LeVar Burton.

There was little doubt Trebek would be winning the Emmy one last time, but it's nice to see that it's now official. You can check out the full list of winners and nominees at the official website for the Daytime Emmy Awards website.